top of page

Small Victory Bakery @ Yaletown


Small Victory Bakery

1088 Homer St,

Vancouver, BC V6B 2W9 (604) 899-8892

Open 8am to 8pm

Small Victory Bakery is located just a block and a half away from the Yaletown-Roundhouse Skytrain station. So its quite accessible if you ever need to get out of the rain and into a cozy cafe, like what I did. The interior is artistic, but it isn't loudly decorated. It's what a polaroid hipster would like to sit in for hours, if I had to describe it. Spots to sit down fill up quick here, despite arriving early. So just get your food first and then jump at an opportunity to sit down. Food comes first, obviously! Haha. There's even free water, milk and cream on the side counter from faucets that look like beer taps!


The prices here are typical for bakeries, at $5 for a dessert or pastry and around $4 for a drink. If you order green tea, they serve it in a japanese teapot with a teeny tiny cup! I didn't know until I saw people drinking it beside my friend and I, but it's my order for the next time I go. There's a large selection of baked goods and cakes even at 8am in the morning when it opens, compared to other places in town.

Almond Croissant - about $4

My friend ordered an almond croissant and absolutely adored it. As with Thomas Haas, they both share a shredded coconut filling on the inside paired with a smothering of sliced almonds on top. Looking at the size of the plate to the size of the pastry, it's evident that this is pretty large!

Mushroom Gruyere Cheese Tart - about $4.5

The look of this tart really drove me to order it. The only negative was that the staff didn't heat it up before serving it. But luckily, the awesome flavors and the texture made up for it being cold. I would describe the taste as something similar to mushroom pizza, which is pretty incredible if you can recreate it. The tart was the perfect thickness to fill me up past lunch too.

Hot Chocolate 4oz - about $4.9

The guy barista makes fantastic art with the drinks he makes, but he was busy making another drink. So instead, I drew my own design on my hot chocolate and make it visually attractive. Artsy, eh? The hot chocolate tasted like a mix of dark and milk chocolate, but more on the milk side. I've had bitter ones before and this one was a good combination of sweet and bitter. When I finished it, it was a little grainy, but it wasn't a problem since it's chocolate after all.

*Photo creds to Sammi (@yuencity) + myself :D

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page